4 Greeks in the National Academy of Sciences
Good News

4 Greeks in the National Academy of Sciences

The National Academy of Sciences in USA announced the election of 84 new members and 21 foreign associates in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research, among them 4 Greeks are featured.

Those elected bring the total number of active members to 2,382 and the total number of foreign associates to 484. Foreign associates are nonvoting members of the Academy, with citizenship outside the United States.

Newly elected members and their affiliations at the time of election are:

Kalogera, Vassiliki; Daniel I. Linzer Distinguished University Professor of Physics and Astronomy and director, Center for Interdisciplinary Exploration and Research in Astrophysics, Northwestern University, Evanston, Ill.

Yannakakis, Mihalis; Percy K. and Vida L.W. Hudson Professor of Computer Science, department of computer science, Columbia University, New York City

Newly elected foreign associates, their affiliations at the time of election, and their country of citizenship are:

Karkanas, Panagiotis; director, Malcolm H. Wiener Laboratory of Archaeological Sciences, American School of Classical Studies at Athens, Athens, Greece (Greece)

Xepapadeas, Anastasios; professor of economic theory and policy, Athens University of Economics and Business, Athens, Greece (Greece)

The National Academy of Sciences is a private, nonprofit institution that was established under a congressional charter signed by President Abraham Lincoln in 1863. It recognizes achievement in science by election to membership, and — with the National Academy of Engineering and the National Academy of Medicine — provides science, engineering, and health policy advice to the federal government and other organizations.