Received one of the most distinguished Maths awards
Good News

Received one of the most distinguished Maths awards

Konstantinos Daskalakis, the mathematician, who at the age of 27 solved the riddle of Nash, Professor of the prestigious MIT University, is now honored with one of the most important awards in mathematics, the Rolf Nevanlinna Prize.

He said that the award is one of the most important ones and “for that, I am very pleased. There was a protocol of secrecy and for that reason, word got out today when the award was given” he added.



The objectives of the International Mathematical Union (IMU) are to promote international cooperation in mathematics. By supporting and assisting the International Congress of Mathematicians (ICM) and other international scientific meetings/conferences. To acknowledge outstanding research contributions to mathematics, through the awarding of scientific prizes and to encourage and support other international mathematical activities, considered likely to contribute to the development of mathematical science in any of its aspects, whether pure, applied, or educational.

The Rolf Nevanlinna Prize is awarded every four years to scientists under the age of 40 who contributed to computational mathematics. It is given alongside the Fields Prize, which is considered to be the Nobel Prize for Mathematics.

The International Mathematical Association stresses that Mr. Daskalakis is awarded because he “shaped our understanding of computational complexity in fundamental problems” related to mathematics and economics.

The fact that placed him among the most ingenious minds and caught the attention of the scientific community and the public was that while being only 27 – and still on his master’s – he decided to stand against the undefeated “Nash equilibrium”, a mystery which remained unsolved for six decades, and managed to solve it within a year.



He has received many other awards and distinctions such as the Career Award from the US Institute of Science, the Informatics Award from the Sloan Foundation, the Outstanding Publication Award from the International Association of Applied Mathematics SIAM, the research fellowship of Microsoft and the Research Award from the Giuseppe Sciacca Institute of the Vatican.

He studied at the Electrical Engineering and Computer Engineering department at the National Technical University of Athens, graduated with a grade of 9.98/10. Postgraduate and doctoral studies followed at the University of Berkeley in the US, where he decided to continue his life. He was hired by Microsoft, only to resign a while later so as to become an assistant professor at MIT, at the age of 27.


  Comments: 3

  1. Σωκράτης Βασιλείου

    Προφανώς τεράστια διάκριση για τον κύριο Δασκαλακη μόνο που ο τίτλος του άρθρου δεν είναι ακριβείς διότι το Νόμπελ των Μαθηματικών θεωρείται το FIELDS αν κσι όπως γράφω παρακάτω δυγκατσλεγεται στις κορυφαίες παγκόσμιες διακρίσεις
    Εξάλλου το γράφεται ορθά και μέσα στο άρθρο σας

    Το βραβείο Νεβανλίνα είναι η κορυφαία διεθνής διάκρισή του μέχρι σήμερα και του ανοίγει το δρόμο για να συμμετάσχει πλέον στο «Φόρουμ της Χαϊδελβέργης», όπου κάθε χρόνο παίρνουν μέρος οι κάτοχοι των κορυφαίων μαθηματικών βραβείων (Fields, Abel, Turing και Nevanlinna).

  2. Το Nevanlinna prize δεν είναι το Νομπελ των μαθηματικών. Το Fields Medal είναι το αντιστοιχο βραβείο του Νομπελ για τους μαθηματικούς.