Alexandre Desplat won at the 2018 Critics’ Choice Awards
Good News

Alexandre Desplat won at the 2018 Critics’ Choice Awards

Greek film composer Alexandre Desplat won the Critics’ Choice Awards for Best Score for Guilermo del Toro’s Shape of Water. This comes after his win in the Golden Globes for Best Score on the same work.

The nominations were:


Alexandre Desplat – The Shape of Water

Jonny Greenwood – Phantom Thread

Dario Marianelli – Darkest Hour

Benjamin Wallfisch and Hans Zimmer – Blade Runner 2049

John Williams – The Post

Hans Zimmer – Dunkirk

This isn’t the first time that the work of Desplat, born in Paris to a French father and a Greek mother, has been recognized. Desplat is one of the most significant music composers and an expert in composing soundtracks for the cinema. He won his first Grammy award for the score The King’s Speech. Moreover, except for receiving four Oscar nominations, Alexandre won his first Golden Globe in 2006 for his music in The Painted Veil. The Oscars 2015 held a pleasant surprise for the Greek-French Alexander Desplat who won his first Oscar for the Best Original Score for his work in “The Grand Budapest Hotel”. He has been nominated nine times for a Golden Globe Best Original Score since 2004.


  Comments: 1