A distinguished Greek scientist

A distinguished Greek scientist

Angelos Bletsas, the distinguished Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Engineering at the Technical University of Crete, has been included in the list of 45 leading Greek scientists under 45, published in 2018 by Ioannis P.A. Ioannidis, Professor at the School of Medicine and at the School of Sciences and Humanities of Stanford University, USA.

Aggelos Bletsas was born and raised at the city of Chania, at the north-western part of the historic island of Crete, Greece. He received with excellence his diploma degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering from Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece in 1998, and the M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Media Arts and Sciences from Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge MA in 2001 and 2005, respectively.



He worked at Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratories (MERL), Cambridge MA, first as a consultant and then as a Postdoctoral Fellow and at Radiocommunications Laboratory (RCL), Department of Physics, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, as a visiting scientist. He joined the Electronic and Computer Engineering Department (ECE), Technical University of Crete, in the summer of 2009, as an Assistant Professor and promoted to tenured Associate Professor at the beginning of 2014.

His research interests span the broad area of scalable wireless communication and networking, with emphasis on relay techniques, signal processing for communication, RF and bioelectric energy harvesting, radio hardware/software implementations for wireless transceivers and low cost sensor networks, RFID, time/frequency metrology, inference algorithms, bibliometrics and system integration (synthesis). His current vision and focus are on single-transistor front-ends and backscatter sensor networks, for LARGE-scale environmental sensing. He has also commenced a line of research towards batteryless, ambiently-powered computers.



He is Senior Member of IEEE, Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions on Wireless Communications (TWC) and Technical Program Committee (TPC) member of major IEEE conferences. He also served as Associate Editor of IEEE Wireless Communications Letters, since their foundation, from 2011 until summer of 2016.

His research projects have funded a significant number of talented graduate students, post-doctoral researchers and lab technicians, as well as the establishment of a rapid prototyping fabrication laboratory that allows students to transform deep mathematical thinking to tangible, working systems. He was the national representative and management committee (MC) member in the EU COST IC1301 Action “Wireless Power Transmission for Sustainable Electronics (WIPE)”. He holds two patents from USPTO and he has been included in here.


Dr. Bletsas was the co-recipient of IEEE Communications Society 2008 Marconi Prize Paper Award in Wireless Communications, best paper distinction in IEEE International Symposium on Wireless Communication Systems (ISWCS), September 2009, Siena, Italy, best student paper award in IEEE International Conference on RFID Technology & Applications (RFID-TA), September 2011, Sitges, Spain, best paper distinction in IEEE Sensors Conference (SENSORS), November 2013, Baltimore, USA, best student paper award-SPCOM track and conference-wide best student paper award, IEEE International Conference on Acoustics, Speech and Signal Processing (ICASSP), April 2015, Brisbane, Australia, best student paper award in IEEE International Conference on RFID Technology and Applications (RFID-TA), September 2017, Warsaw, Poland and best student paper award in IEEE International Conference on Modern Circuits and System Technologies for Electronics and Communications (MOCAST), May 2018, Thessaloniki, Greece.

He is also proud of his students who were winners for two consecutive years of the 2009-2011 and 2011-2012 best Diploma Thesis contest among all Greek Universities on “Advanced Wireless Systems”, awarded by IEEE VTS/AES joint Greek Chapter. In December 2013, he was the recipient of the 2012-2013 Technical Univ. of Crete Research Excellence Award [honorary speech on “Civic/Academic Capital and Research”].